Homepage » Forums » Plants, Climates and Soils » Backyard Soil/sand question

This topic contains 11 replies, has 8 voices, and was last updated by  Michael 4 years, 8 months ago.

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author

Merel
    Participant

Hi everyone, i have a question, since i am a beginning permaculturalist…. i’ve just started designing and working on my backgarden paradise plan, and i have a question regarding soil….maybe somebody has the answer for me?
    i just moved into my new house with garden, and started to remove the tiles that covered the garden soil. underneath is a layer of sand, which is covering a typical dutch clay ground. the sand and clay are not good for veggies to grow, so i know what to do (cardboard, humus, compost etc) but what to do with the sand??? should i take sand out? or can i leave it, to be mixed with the rest of the soil eventually?

thanks so much for viewing my question!

trisha
    Participant

Hi, I’m also a beginner to permaculture and soil specifics, but in my understanding, sand is one of the ‘antidotes’ to overly clay soil–after organic matter. And my understanding is also that adding organic matter is good for too-sandy soil and overly clay soil. . .

I have found a similar spot on my site under concrete pavers I’ve removed and I figured the sand will maybe help me with my highly compacted clay underneath–I’ve added cardboard and organic matter to the top–directly on the sand without mixing. Sometimes it’s recommended to add sand for crops like asperagus and carrot–so I’m thinking in the fall of trying those out here.

Hope that helps–unfortunately I can’t say if it worked yet. . .

Merel
    Participant

hi trisha, thanks so much for replying! sounds like clay and sand are the perfect components together then!

Daniela Guerrero
    Participant