Homepage 2019 » Forums » Online and Offline Permaculture Resources » permaculture/sustainability study materials for newbies – books, vids, pics, etc

This topic contains 5 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  Jennifer Nini 5 years, 3 months ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

Mark
    Participant

I’m a real newbie concerning permaculture and sustainability but really want to learn. So does anyone know some top notch permaculture and sustainability educational material besides this course 😉 on any of these topics and other topics worthwhile to know in a permaculture and sustainability context?

heres some topics I’d like to learn more about
    – aquaponics
    – building with wood, building with stone, building with clay, etc
    – Companion Planting
    – Composting
    – design – forest garden design, ecovillage design,
    – earthsheltered houses
    – energy – wind, solar, thermal, kinetic
    – Food Forests and Forest Gardens
    – Food preservation and storage
    – heating and stoves
    – husbandry (how to care for animals and use animals in permaculture/gardening)
    – hydroponics
    – manure
    – nutrients, nutrient cycles, soil fertilty, microbes
    – “Pest” control
    – polytunnels, greenhouse pits/walipinis
    – seasonal planting
    – soil restoration (how to make dead earth fertile again – like paul stamets ted talk 6 ways mushrooms can help save the world)
    – vertical gardening
    – water harvesting and storage
    – water treatment, greywater systems, etc
    – weeding without chemicals

Heres some material that ive already found and begun to watch and read:

Videos
    – A farm for the future
    – Bill Mollison: Global Gardener Series
    – dirt the movie
    – Lawton on Food Forests
    30 year old Food Forest,
    300 year old Food Forest,
    2000 year old Food Forest
    – Paul Stamet Ted Talk: 6 ways mushrooms can help save the world

Books
    – Aranya – Permaculture Design